Kinwashi Paper Batik ATCs & ACEOs

I learned about Kinwashi paper about 2 years ago and was even given a sample, but I never did anything with it. I finally started playing with it and the results are below.

This Japanese paper is made out of bark and has some unique characteristics about it, such as the bark inclusions that are so beautiful in the finished piece. The paper also makes painting on it a whole new experience. It sucks up pigment like no tomorrow so you have to be very sparing on the water or the color will soak through the paper right under the resist. Also, if you wet an area that you have already painted the bleeds onto whatever surface is under the paper. The paper is translucent when wet so I paint on top of white washcloths. Oh, one more thing, the resist likes the paper too much and frequently doesn’t want to come up. I ruined one of my pieces when the resist came up with the paper leaving holes in the painting!

The results are well worth it though and I look forward to working more with this paper and painting some larger pieces as well for my Etsy shop.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Yevgenia Watts
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 18:49:32

    Hi! I saw your Batik ATCs on Flickr and came here. Beautiful stuff 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

