April Abstract Challenge Piece – Theme Secret

This theme immediately brought to mind The Secret Garden, but as a couple of others jumped on this and used keys in their pieces. I wanted to do something different – to stretch myself. When kids tell each other secrets they frequently bring their finger to their lips, “Shh, don’t tell anyone,” and proceed. The thought image was so strong I knew I found my idea. I found a photo, cropped it within an inch of its life and started playing with it. At this point I still didn’t know how I was going to execute my idea. I started playing with all of the filters in Photoshop. I thought I was just going to find the edges to make it easier to trace but then one filter was just “right!”  I printed it out on printable organza (Extravorganza) and found a beautiful marbled piece of fabric in my stash that looked like the wind blowing & eddying. I put the two together and did some thread painting. The title of this piece is “Whispers on the Wind.” This piece really did take me out of my box. I love these challenge groups because they really challenge me to grow and try new techniques and ideas.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Denise
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 20:06:40

    And this is a piece of great art! Take a bow!

    Reply

  2. margaret
    May 15, 2008 @ 05:53:17

    The double-row satin stitch border is something I haven’t seen before – I’m guessing you do the outer row first?

    Reply

  3. crftyscrapper
    May 15, 2008 @ 10:57:41

    Yes I did the outer row first. I will also, in the future, sew a straigt stitch1/8 from the cut line BEFORE I cut next time. It will be covered by the satin stitch anyway and then I wont be fighting to keep it down while sewing the first round.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

