February Abstract-Challenge Piece – POEM

I had to read “The Outsiders” by S.E. Hinton in junior high. I wasn’t thrilled to read about a bunch of hoodlums. The story was definitely outside of my comfort reading zone. We even had to buy our own copy (unheard of in 1983)! Read the darned thing anyway ’cause it was for a grade. -Fell in love with it!!!! (and that is a major understatement) I have read it so many times now that I have packing tape holding it together. Anyway, I digress, in the book one of the characters likened another character to a poem by Robert Frost.  My piece is titled Nature’s First Green is Gold.  This art is 8″x8″. Below is the poem and a picture of my piece.

Nothing Gold Can Stay

Nature’s first green is gold,

Her hardest hue to hold.

Her early leaf’s a flower;

But only so an hour.

Then leaf subsides to leaf.

So Eden sank to grief,

So dawn goes down to day.

Nothing gold can stay.

Nature’s First Green is Gold

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy Sands
    Feb 25, 2008 @ 22:26:02

    Very nice piece, Cindy. I like it a lot!

    Reply

  2. Leigh-Anne Crooke
    Feb 26, 2008 @ 04:16:27

    This is absolutely stunning. I love the way the green and yellow/gold blend into each other and the stipple quilting is beautiful.

    Reply

  3. vivian
    Feb 26, 2008 @ 05:27:49

    Beautiful colour & design!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

