January Take-It-Further Challenge Piece DONE & POSTED!

When I decided to throw out my idea and start over I didn’t realize what I did to myself *chuckle* BUT, I am very happy with the way this piece came out. My mother was my inspiration so I decided to go with her birthstone, the topaz. So this piece is titled “Topaz.” Please leave comments, critiques, constructive criticism. I welcome it all.

This piece is 5″x7″

topaz-white-background-1-08-low-res-copy.jpg

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tomme Fent
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 17:03:20

    Cindy – This piece is wonderful! I love the movement you’ve created with the beads and stitching. You should try working “larger” more often. (heh heh)

    Reply

  2. Sandra Starley
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 17:20:31

    Wow, want a difference the beading and embroidery made to the piece. I like working small also.

    Reply

  3. Sandra Starley
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 17:21:35

    That should be what a difference the embellishments made to the piece. Kudos.

    Reply

  4. Nikki
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 17:31:02

    Beautiful. I love all the curves and different textures.

    Reply

  5. Robin
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 17:56:11

    I really llike this piece. It has great movement and I love the layering and detail.

    Reply

  6. Linda
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 18:20:11

    Love the movement in the beads. Lovely colour too.

    Reply

  7. ren
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 18:52:26

    This is very nice! Lots of nice texture!

    Reply

  8. sharonb
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 19:56:50

    Cindy the texture is great too! lovely scrmpy stuff I want to touch
    I really like it

    Reply

  9. Meg
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 20:28:28

    What a nice piece of work, I like the movement and the sense of rythem.

    Reply

  10. Louise Page
    Feb 14, 2008 @ 00:38:43

    Love the piece. The color, texture and movement is great!

    Reply

  11. lee
    Feb 17, 2008 @ 23:55:03

    I like the way the beads march across it. Nice color combo, very nice work. How big is it? Going by the size of the bugle beads I’m guessing ACEO sized…

    Reply

  12. freebird(Timaree)
    Feb 20, 2008 @ 03:57:26

    Really, totally different than your first idea. Sometimes I’ve thought I really liked an idea but found it didn’t work for me. You went with the flow and turned out a nice piece for honoring your mother.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

